See five Nigeria head of government that died while in office(Pictures)

Last modified date

Comments: 0


Since October 1st,1960, Nigeria had had different leaders from Nnamdi Azikiwe, Tafawa Balewa,Aguiyi Ironsi,Yakubu Gowon,Muritala Muhammed,Obasanjo,Shehu Shagari,Buhari,Babaginda,Shonekan, Abacha,Abdusalam,Obasanjo,Yaradua, Good luck Jonathan and President Muhammadu Buhari.

However,out of all these leaders,five died in office. These include: Tafawa Balewa, Aguiyi Ironsi, Muritala Muhammed,Sani Abacha and Umaru Musa Yaradua.

Tafawa Balewa was a former Minister of Transportation in 1952 and the first Prime Minister of Nigeria in 1960. In 1966,there was coup, Balewa was  abducted and later killed.


Aguiyi Ironsi on the other hand was Nigeria first military head of state,he introduced unitary government  but was also killed in 1966 after a counter coup in Nigeria.

The third Nigerian leader that died in office was Muritala Muhammed,he came to power on  July 30,1975 but was assassinated on February 13,1976.

Furthermore, General Sani Abacha  also emerged as Nigeria head of state in November 17,1993 and died June 8th,1998.

Finally, Umar Musa Yaradua,was the last Nigeria’s President that died in office. He was born August 16th,1951,he became president May 29,2007 but gave up the ghost May 5,2010.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Post comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.